We Save Bees,

live bee removal

Nature's Place

It was early morning – my month is half and half, early and not so. About 6.00am, it had been an open sky during the night so it was coldish, relatively so. I went looking for any creatures that were visible, maybe late to rest in the afternoon and so ‘on top’ of things rather than hidden as so many are.

I went out the back yard and saw this tiny bee, or wasp, it’s so difficult to know at times, and thought it must be cool enough not to take much notice of me. But as soon as I got close she was away. Away about two feet to the flowers on the Crown of Thorns, the name given to a plant that grows out back.

It seemed frisky enough but I approached again where it was on the flower and it didn’t fly away this time but moved…

View original post 264 more words

5 thoughts on “

  1. Hi. Just wondering what prompted you to reblog this post?

    BTW, nice to see people actually don’t kill unwanted hives anymore, some anyway. The native bees don’t really need saving except that we leave their natural habitat and food source alone and protect it from introduced species.

    The European honey bee has a big advantage over most native bees in that it is warmer earlier in the morning and so is out foraging ahead of the native competition, they do compete, a lot of the time and the native bee is disappearing from the urban landscape here in Aus – with some of the more hardy hanging on.

    … best. M

    • Mark,

      Honestly, I was just looking through the nature blogs and I was impressed by how beautiful this picture is… plus I liked the title, “Wake Up Call”, as I believe it’s time we all had a wake up call when it comes to the things we’re doing to our environment today.

      • Do you include native species in your service? Or educate people on the value and relative harmlessness and beauty of these creatures. And perhaps educate people how to encourage them? That would be good since it is the native species that is under threat.

        Do you come across many native bees in your work?

  2. Here are some examples of Australian native bees, and I’m sure your American ones are no less beautiful. http://beingmark.com/2011/11/16/dark-neon-beauty/http://beingmark.com/2011/12/19/bee-on-sunset/http://beingmark.com/2011/08/22/perfectly-queen-of-the-bees/ – Just a few from a quick search of my blog.

    I would ask you, if you know of native bee sites from your work, to post the general locations on a macro forum – http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/board/45 – or contact me and I will do it. Specific locations (GPS coordinates would be best) can be passed to interested individuals but not made public for good reason.

    It would be very much appreciated.

    All the best. Mark

    • Mark,

      Thank you so much for your interest and the links from your blog. If you don’t mind, I’ll add them to my links.

      Also, I’ll keep in mind the forum you mention and pass on the word to any other bloggers who happen across my blog.

Leave a Reply

